Introducing Stella: New Trophy Design
To celebrate the 21st Anniversary of the annual Film Awards ceremony, the SFTA (Society of Film and Television Arts) commissioned a new trophy for winners across its 20 categories.

Wedgwood’s Eric Owen took inspiration from British sculptor John Flaxman’s eighteenth century models of mythological figures, and created a nine-inch high statuette in black basalt. Presented to winners in a bespoke gift box, the trophy came to be known as the ‘Stella’ and among the winners to receive one over the next eight years were Billie Whitelaw, Francois Truffaut, Glenda Jackson and Sir John Gielgud.

It was the last trophy design before the now iconic BAFTA mask.

Pictured in 1969, Supporting Actor winner Ian Holm with his Stella for Bofors Gun (1968), SFTA President Lord Mountbatten and Billie Whitelaw, Supporting Actress winner for in Twisted Nerve (1968) and Charlie Bubbles (1968). (BAFTA Archive)

Ian Holm and Billie Whitelaw with their Stellas in 1969 (BAFTA Archive)